top of page

New global bubble gum flavor: KPOP!

KPOP is going global, well it has been for quite a while but I’m stuck in 2012, and just catching up.

The sounds, the colors and the guy, all sums up to a new taste in music, now more and more popular in the western world. I am talking about G-Dragon, the KPOP God Kwon Ji Yong; well known to be one of the BIGBANG boy band members.

I must be honest about not being a KPOP fan, and knowing nothing about it. I have just started building this fascination around G-Dragon’s bubble gum style, a mix of hip hop, pop and some enjoyable and quite old fashion child-star arrogance.

I encourage you not only to listen to his music, but also taking a bit of time to watch his official music videos. The aesthetic of his Crayon single music video can be taken as the personification of modern pop. I can assure you that the colors, choreography and camera movements show a vibrant genre that’s getting places.

G-Dragons lyrics are fun, catchy, and he uses a refreshing style to deliver. I cannot wait to see more of him as a solo artist. At least now, thanks to a dear all-things-KPOP-fan friend of mine, I can enjoy another G-dragon’s super fun 2012 single One of a kind.

If you like how Crayon sounds, don’t doubt listening/watching his One of a kind single, here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rJnICByeL8Q

Recent Posts
You my everything - ELLIE GOULDING
00:0000:00
bottom of page